Formation and establishment

Imam Jaafar al-Sadiq (peace be upon him) University was established in 2004 AD, and it was established in accordance with the Law of Private Colleges and Universities in Iraq, No. (13) for the year 1996 AD, as amended, in the name of the Dar al-Islam Charitable Foundation, as it is the approved body responsible for sponsoring this university and managing its affairs according to the law. Accordingly, the University was recognized by the Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research, on 3/8/2008, after the Council of Ministers approved it in its regular session on 2/1/2008. The University started with three colleges in its main location in Baghdad, and two alternative locations in the governorates of Najaf and Maysan, and began to perform its mission with a few hundred male and female students. After hard work and continuous effort, today it has five other new branches, in the governorates: Muthanna, Dhi Qar, Salah al-Din, Diyala, and Kirkuk.

Thus, the University of Imam Jaafar Al-Sadiq (p) is the largest private university in Iraq at all.

What confirms the development of the educational process at the University, is that it began reaping the fruits of what it planted quickly, its students who graduated from it returned to become teachers after completing their postgraduate studies (Masters) and (PhD) and outperform their peers from other universities, looking towards building and progress, and they contribute to shaping the future prospects for the University.